Skip to content

It’s never too late to be happily ever after divorced

November 24, 2010

I came across an interesting article in Life and Health Advisors Online by Lili Vasileff, CFP, CDFA, president of Divorce and Money Matters, LLC, and President of the Association of Divorce Financial Planners.  In “Are gray divorces exploding?” Lili explored the financial and social ramifications of what is reputed to be a growing trend among Baby Boomers like Tipper and Al Gore for late-in-life divorces.

Lili A. Vasileff

I found the article thought-provoking, especially since I have quite a few friends who have recently fallen into this category.

Although divorce at any age is rarely without pain,  late life divorce is that it is immeasurably easier because child custody issues are not involved.  But mostly I’m glad to be reminded that even in one’s late fifties and sixties (the current demographic for Baby Boomers, hard as that is for this Baby Boomer to believe), there is still the opportunity for a great many happy and fulfilled years ahead.  I was especially reminded of this not long ago when, after speaking to a group of seniors, a couple in their mid-80′s introduced themselves to say that after late life divorces for each of them,  they had been now been happily remarried to each other 32 years.

My only quibble with the article?  Calling these divorces “grey.”   For a lot of us in this age group, “grey” is something easily taken care of.

I’m just saying.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 5:44 pm

    I’m with you on this “gray divorce” term – it makes me sound way older than I feel and I’ve vowed that I’m never going to use that term.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

