Skip to content

What motivated me to keep writing Happily Ever After Divorce

February 9, 2009

 

Writing a book can be a daunting challenge.  Much as I was committed to the project, I will admit there were times when my energy lagged.  But then inevitably, this would happen: When asked what I was working on, I would answer that I was writing a positive book about life after my divorce.  I explained that rather than the usual divorce lament, I was writing a collection of essays which would recount my upbeat, inspiring post-divorce experiences – to demonstrate that divorce is not, as I had once feared, the end of the world.

 

People would grab my hand and exclaim: “I need your book for my sister … I need it for my best friend …  I need to read your book myself!” 

 

This is what kept me going when I became discouraged or weary about writing yet one more chapter.  Women and men both were hungry – sometimes almost desperate – to hear that it would be possible to come out the other end of divorce not just intact, but joyful and triumphant.

 

How well I remembered that feeling.

  

So I kept writing, determined that by sharing my stories with others, I could communicate that not only is divorce not the end of the world, but it can be the beginning of the best life you’ve ever lived.  

 

 I hope that anyone who needs to hear this message takes a look at Happily Ever After Divorce: Notes of a Joyful Journey.  Here are a few excerpts. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 10:15 am

    You’ve hit on one of the best motivations I can think of to keep writing a non-fiction book.

  2. August 6, 2009 3:41 am

    Nice site. go to my favorites. TNx

  3. August 16, 2009 2:41 pm

    Just wanted to say HI. I found your blog a few days ago on Technorati and have been reading it over the past few days.

  4. September 26, 2009 7:18 am

    I’ve had a quick look at your site, it looks very interesting. Maybe you’d like to send a synopsis through for us to publish for you? Please make it as factual as possible and include a short bio of yourself and a link to your site at the end.

Leave a Reply

