Skip to content

The books have arrived

February 28, 2009

I don’t know if there can be a more momentous day for a writer.  I opened my front door, and there on the top step was a carton filled with brand new, shiny copies of Happily Ever After Divorce: Notes of a Joyful Journey, each bearing my name on the front and small  photo on the back cover.  My first book.  It was every bit the heart-pounding moment I thought it would be, and more. A moving experience, beyond words.

Funny that my oldest son David, just home from California for a visit before some world travels, was by my side today as I slit the box open. He gave me a hug, and a “Congratulations, Mom.” No coincidence, perhaps; because the closest thing that’s come to this moment was the day David first appeared, roughly 23 years ago, blinking at the world as he lay on my chest, only minutes from my womb.

Proud moments, to be sure.  But at the same time, somewhat mystifying, to try to imagine from what unimaginable Source such miraculous gifts could arrive. And why I should find myself so bestowed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 10:11 pm

    Mazel tov, dearest friend! I know the feeling of opening that box of books, and it moved me to think of David being there to be able to participate in this special moment. Congratulations and I can’t wait to read Happily Ever After Divorce. I’ve already put in my order for a copy with Barnes & Noble.

    Love, Linda

  2. March 1, 2009 9:32 am

    Congratulation! And how wonderful that you’re taking a breath and reveling in your achievement. I can’t wait to read it!

  3. Nancy G permalink
    March 2, 2009 7:32 pm

    Congratulations, Jessica. I can only imagine what a thrill it is for you. I look forward to your book signing.
    Love,
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

