Skip to content

Enough about Michael Jackson!!

July 6, 2009

Okay, I’ve been trying to be nice about this.  As my friend Gordon likes to remind me, “if you don’t have something good to say, don’t say anything at all.” (Clearly Gordon forgets who he’s speaking to.) 

Yes, I’ll admit that the fact that I was never a huge Michael Jackson fan has a lot more to do with my advanced age than the pop singer’s lack of talent.  And that for a decade now I have literally cringed whenever I caught a glimpse of that Frankenstein-manufactured, bleached, android looking creature, obviously means that I am missing some profound cultural statement being made about the importance of crossing the gender, race, and generational divide.

But enough already about Michael Jackson!  Surely our world must be a secure and happy place if every news and entertainment show has to nothing more to focus on but the highly predictable early death of this self-medicating, no-boundaries, delusions of immortality pop star? Surely greater tragedies have befallen our society, in this decade at least?

Talented? No question. (Great beat, and I still can’t figure out that moon walk.) Successful? Certainly.  But if we’re going to talk about lasting impact on the American music scene, can we now have a little equal time for (in no particular order) Ray Charles, Buddy Holly, Aaron Copeland, John Lennon, or Robert Merrill, to name just a few?

When will all this be over??

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

