Skip to content

A new day, a new blog

October 9, 2009

newday-leadWelcome to my new blog! You may have noticed I’ve been silent for a while, and here’s the explanation.  My blog has been undergoing a metamorphosis.  No longer called the “Happily Ever After Divorce” Blog, it is now simply, The Blog of Jessica Bram. Hence the pretty new header.

Why remove the book title from the heading of the blog?  Admittedly, I’m associated with my book Happily Ever After Divorce: Notes of a Joyful Journey.  That’s why you’ll still see the cover up top. And most often it’s readers who continue to follow me on my blog.  Many are facing or going through a divorce right now, and look to the book – and perhaps to the blog – for messages of hope and encouragement.

But here was the problem.  I just don’t think much about my divorce any more.  Why should I? I’ve got a great new life.  My sons are thriving, with two of them launched in the world in jobs in New York City, and my youngest energetically barreling through his senior year of high school.  My ex-husband and I have long put aside our differences, and are today perfectly congenial as we continue to collaborate on issues such as our son Alex’s college applications. I found love again, and I’m engaged to a terrific guy with whom life is peaceful and full of affection.

That is exactly the point of Happily Ever After Divorce: that divorce is something you get beyond.  It’s not a permanent state of affairs, but a stage you pass through to get to happiness on the other side.

So it just didn’t seem to make sense for the title of my blog to include the word “divorce”.  Nor was I motivated to continually blog about divorce issues, as though I was permanently fixated on that miserable time that now, quite thankfully, seems long in the past.

Today, there are too many other things in life to think about and to write about. Like the huge (and I mean HUGE) houses built on my street in the last few years, and how that’s changing my Connecticut town, for better or worse. Or my mixed feelings about helping my youngest son Alex apply to colleges when the last thing I’m ready for is an empty nest. What my son David is up against, as he struggles through his first year teaching middle school social studies in a poverty and drug-ridden neighborhood in the South Bronx in NYC.

And politics – goodness knows, I never lack an opinion on the political scene, whether it’s national or strictly local.  Sometimes I’ll record commentaries that air on my local NPR station, WSHU.  But they’ll be turning up here, too.

I hope you’ll stay interested.

You might also notice I’m now Twittering (or is it Tweeting?) I’ve enlisted a young, with-it (I was going to write “hip”, but that word is now extinct, right?  That’s how not hip I am)  marketing company to bring me into the 21st century as a way of getting the word out about my book.

So stay tuned.  And if you have something to say right back to me, please comment. You can even Twitter – er, I mean Tweet.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 1:00 am

    Congratulations, Jessica! This new venture will more accurately reflect the life you’re living now which is most decidedly not about divorce. Thanks for the explanation. Very freeing for you.

  2. patricefitz permalink
    October 15, 2009 7:31 pm

    Great new blog! I know just what you mean about getting past the divorce morass, and there’s no reason to dwell on it… even as you promote your book. Now you are living the life that’s possible on the OTHER SIDE of all that disruption and pain.

    Welcome to Ever After!

  3. patricefitz permalink
    October 15, 2009 7:32 pm

    P.S. I just got the import of your photo at the top of this entry. A clean slate… a tabula rasa. Your new life!

  4. October 19, 2009 5:38 pm

    Love this – so glad to have found your site and book. I’ve been writing about my own divorce and living “happily ever after” even though it wasn’t my decision to divorce, so it’s always refreshing to find someone with a similar, positive perspective!!

Leave a Reply

