Skip to content

The Upside of Singles Parties

January 13, 2010

You might enjoy this excerpt from Happily Ever After Divorce: Notes of a Joyful Journey on today’s More Magazine online version More.com:

Unlike many newly divorced people, I did not start out dreading the thought of dating.  During the later years of my ailing marriage I had entertained more than a few silent fantasies about what it might be like to start anew.
 
And then reality set in. For one thing, I quickly realized I was a near-neophyte when it came to dating.  I had married young, and in my previous 1970s college and grad school years there had been no such thing as dating, per se. No one called for a date back then. One minute I was in someone’s black-lighted fraternity bedroom listening to the Moody Blues, and the next thing I knew, I was having regular Sunday tofu-and-egg breakfasts at the Moosewood Restaurant with a new boyfriend.
 
But skip ahead a few decades and there I was, single and mother of three, facing the prospect of real dates for the first time …
(Read more)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

