Skip to content

Selfish Senator-Elect

January 20, 2010

I heard something this morning so selfish that it’s driving me up the wall.  It was spoken by Scott Brown, the Republican who just won the Massachusetts Senate seat vacated by the late senator Edward M. Kennedy.

In a morning TV news show he was asked whether he planned to scuttle the health care bill that Senator Kennedy had made the cause of his lifetime.  He made it quite clear that he does.  Referring to the fact that Massachusetts already has the most progressive health reform system in the country, with near-universal health coverage, he responded, (I’m paraphrasing here, but it was something like the following):

“Here in Massachusetts we already have  a good health care system.  I don’t see how the new bill would benefit us.  So yes, I’m against the national health care reform bill.”

So screw you, the rest of the country.

Am I wrong, or doesn’t a United States senator have a responsibility to the entire country, as well as his own state?

Maybe that attitude of “What’s in it for me?” as the governing principle behind any position defines what it means to be a conservative Republican.  Personally, I call it un-American.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 5:09 pm

    I believe that the first responsibility of a senator is to the state from which he/she is elected.

    Also, if a bill can’t pass with 59 votes (yes, a majority) then there is something fundamentally wrong with it.

  2. January 21, 2010 4:45 am

    Jessica,
    I agree that a senator first needs to represent his state, but that’s only in the context of the country as the bigger picture. Mass. does not exist as a separate entity, apart from the US. How selfish to only thing of one’s own domain, without regard for what’s best for the greater good. I appreciate your perspective. This senator does not have my vote!

Leave a Reply

